Bjarte Bruheim
Board chairman

Bjarte Bruheim graduated from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, in 1981, with an MSc in physics and electronics. He then spent the next 10 years working for Geco (now WesternGeco): the first five years as operations manager, Europe and the Far East; and from 1986 to 1991 as vice president operations, North and South America. Bjarte is one of the founders of Petroleum Geo-Services and was its president and chief operating officer until 2001. Bjarte brings with him worldwide business and operational experience in addition to his knowledge as a board member, chairman and president of various US and Norwegian public companies.

Jeffrey A. Harris
Board member

Jeffrey Harris received a BS in economics from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, USA, in 1977 and an MBA from Harvard Business School in 1981. Jeffrey joined Warburg Pincus in 1983 and became managing director in 1988. His investment activities have covered a wide variety of geographies, enterprises (from start-ups to buyouts) and industries, including information technology, energy and industrial products. Jeffrey worked in London, UK from 1991 to 1994 as the senior partner in Warburg Pincus's European venture investment activities. From 1995, he oversaw the company's energy investment activity until he retired from his position as managing director on 1 January 2012.

Berit Svendsen
Board member

Berit Svendsen holds an MSc in Electronics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU, 1988) and a master of technology management from NTNU and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA (1995). She joined Telenor in 1988 as a research scientist. From 2000 to 2005 she was executive vice president and CTO of Telenor and also working chair of Telenor R&D. In January 2005 she took up the position as vice president and head of Telenor Nordic Fixed with overall responsibility for the fixed network business in Norway. From 2002 to 2007, Berit was a member of the European Commission/IST Advisory Group. From May 2008 to September 2011 she was the CEO of Conax. She currently holds the position of CEO in Telenor Norway AS.


Stig Eide Sivertsen
Board member

Stig Eide Sivertsen has extensive management experience gained from a number of senior positions. He served as chief financial officer of Petroleum Geo-Services (PGS) from 1993 to 1996, following a four-year period in the same role for Schibsted AS. He founded Nettavisen in 1996 before joining Telenor ASA where he was a member of the global executive management team for more than ten years, among other as chief executive officer of Telenor Broadcast Holding AS. Mr Sivertsen has served on a number of boards, including several listed companies.


Guro Høyaas Løken

Board member

Guro Høyaas Løken has a Master of Science in Naval Architecture and Marine Technology from the Norwegian Institute of Technology (NTH) in Trondheim, Norway. She is currently the VP of Engineering and Technology with the company EMAS AMC As. Høyaas Løken has a broad managerial experience and substantial international experience. She worked for Aker Marine Contractors, Aker Engineering and Technip for more than 14 years, including as a Global Vessel and Asset manager. She has strong technical skills from the offshore industry with tasks ranging from deep-water platform & mooring design to installation planning and execution.


Svein Ellingsrud

Board member

Svein Ellingsrud has an MSc (1986) and a PhD (1990) in physics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. He joined Statoil in Trondheim in 1992 as a research scientist focusing on petrophysics, rock physics, geophysics and electromagnetic techniques. Svein was the project manager from 1997 for the internal Statoil project that later became the background for establishing EMGS. In 2002, Svein joined EMGS as one of its founders and became vice president for research and development. He had responsibility for all technology development within EMGS until May 2008. Svein was also chief technology officer from 2007 until May 2008. After one and a half years as an executive adviser to KMS Technologies, Inc., Svein rejoined EMGS in late 2009. Currently, he is the technical director of EMGS’s multi-client business unit. Svein has also served on several boards, including those of KMS Technologies and Sensor Developments AS.


Christel Brønstad

Board member

Christel Brønstad graduated with a BSc in multimedia systems from London Guildhall University, UK, in 2002 and has worked at EMGS since 2003. She has had roles in various EMGS departments, including administration, sales and marketing, and acquisition, and is currently working in the EMGS training centre.


Lodve Berre

Deputy board member

Lodve Berre received a master of science in environmental physics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim in 2003. After graduation, he was a co-founder and system designer at MIVU Solutions, until he joined EMGS in May 2006 as a field geophysicist. Lodve has been a senior scientist in the geoscience department since November 2010 but has also held positions in geophysical support and software engineering at EMGS.


Magni Hofstad

Deputy board member

Magni Hofstad studied accounting at Sør-Trøndelag University College, Trondheim, and BI Norwegian Business School, Trondheim. While she was employed at KL Regnskap Rosten AS, she worked on the accounts for EMGS from January 2004. Magni joined EMGS in 2006, and was appointed as its accounting manager in July 2007.